by -

Another week of our regular series Whine Wednesday and today we talk about Bathroom Amenities available at hotels that many properties have now changed to an ‘On Request’ option.

ww-amenitiesUsually full service hotels (especially in the 4-5 Star range) provide a full range of bathroom amenities but more and more properties lay out less of these products nowadays. [click to continue…]

by -

Hyatt Gold Passport has outdone itself once more when it comes to the matter of absolutely terrible marketing and IT infrastructure after a widely advertised online Q&A with Mr. Zidell turned awry.

hyatt-zidellThe Reddit session which was advertised as a way of mutual exchange and clarification of open questions ended up as a pathetic marketing tirade with nothing but lame excuses. [click to continue…]

by -

A central issue and general concern for many of our readers has been the revamp of the Hyatt Gold Passport program effective March 1, 2017 and the high requirements for their new top tier Globalist.


The new program ‘World of Hyatt’ requires 60 nights stayed each calendar year starting in 2017 to qualify for the Globalist tier (55 nights to requalify once you reach Globalist status, including current Diamond members transitioned to the Globalist tier in 2017)  while the option to qualify via stays has been eliminated entirely. [click to continue…]

by -

Hyatt Gold Passport has sent invitations via email to a select group of members to participate in a (really short) Q&A session via Reddit Ask Me Anything (AMA) with their VP Jeff Zidell on November 16th.


The invitation emails go out in batches (I have received mine about a day later than a friend) and I would assume they went to different demographics, not only Diamond members. [click to continue…]

by -

Hyatt’s constant race to the bottom continues and management doesn’t seem to fear any measure is too drastic to cut costs on the customers expense as you will notice when calling Hyatt Reservations.


I had to ring Hyatt three times in the past 2 weeks and was a bit surprised when I didn’t get the usual U.S. call center anymore but instead agents with an accent that I instantly identified as coming from the Philippines. [click to continue…]

by -

Hyatt is apparently about to “enhance” its Gold Passport program on November 1, 2016, according to information gathered by Matthew Klint, who wrote about these coming changes on his blog post (access here). These changes are effective March 17, 2017.


The major changes are these: Hyatt is introducing one more tier, qualification by stays is gone (only by nights), qualification by revenue (via base points) is introduced and select standard suites are available for “Globalist” (top tier) members based on availability at the time of check in. [click to continue…]

by -

This week’s Compensation Clinic comes to us from Chicago and my recent one night stay at the Hyatt Regency O’Hare which was less than perfect due to some issues with the Hyatt iPhone app check-in process which was further magnified by communication issues between hotel staff.


While I’ve used the app many times to book hotels, this was actually the first time I used the Hyatt app to actually check into a hotel.  The latest version of the app has been advertised heavily by Hyatt on hotel TV channels and through email since the new version came out in August so I figured I’d give it a try.

[click to continue…]