Club Carlson Hotel Award Category Changes 2014


Unlike in 2013, Club Carlson has released a list of hotel changing in award categories for reservations made on or after May 1, 2014.


Club Carlson has 115 hotels moving up one award category and 67 hotels moving down of which 1 hotel more than one category (from 5 to 3).

You can access Club Carlson web page for these changes here.

Club Carlson has also introduced a new award category 7 that requires 70,000 points per night. Nine hotels are in this category.

Category 7 properties:

Radisson Royal Hotel, Dubai

Radisson Blu Le Dokhan’s Hotel, Paris Trocadero

Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso, Cannes

Radisson Blu Le Metropolitan Hotel, Paris Eiffel

Radisson Blu Hotel Champs Elysees, Paris

The May Fair

Plaza on the River, London

art’otel, Amsterdam

Radisson Royal Hotel, Moscow

Percentage change of points required when hotels are moving up a category


Club Carlson award category changes 2014 UP


Club Carlson award category changes 2014 DOWN


Of the 67 properties moving down, twenty are located in India.

Club Carlson changes Americas

Download (PDF, 90KB)

Club Carlson Changes Europe, Middle East & Africa

Download (PDF, 76KB)

Club Carlson changes Asia-Pacific

Download (PDF, 65KB)


I am glad that Club Carlson decided to properly announce the category changes this year compared to what happened in 2013 (read more here), when there was no announcement or emails to Club Carlson members.

These award category changes are not drastic, although not huge fan of the category 7 requiring 70,000 points per night.

Remember that you can book under the current point schedule until the end of April. The new point requirements will take place on May 1, 2014.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleHilton HHonors Two Conrad & Waldorf-Astoria Promotions Combinable + Work For Existing & Award Reservations Too
Next articleWhine Wednesdays: Hotel Alarm Clocks