Compensation Clinic: Construction Work At Novotel Gdansk Marina

2 Comments

Compensation Clinic pays a visit to Novotel Gdansk Marina that hadn’t announced on its website that there were continuous construction work going on during the guest’s stay.

compensation-clinic-novotel-gdansk

Should the hotel clearly communicate on its website if there is construction work going on?

You can access Novotel Gdansk Marina’s website here.

Here’s the complaint that a LoyaltyLobby reader had sent to Accor about the stay:

Once I have arrived to the hotel I have noticed there is some renovation/contraction works going on.

Due to this I could constantly hear some loud noises (i.e. drilling, knocking) for every day of my 3 days stay in this hotel. Those noises could be heard even on Sunday (29th of Dec). I have asked the reception about them and I was inform those noises are due to scheduled work.

Please be informing there was no information about construction/renovation work which shall be expected during my stay when I was making reservation in this hotel. I have asked reception why hotel guest were not inform about such highly annoying noises (i.e. why I was not called and this hotel knows my phone number as they have called me to ask for something else). I was informed it was hotel management decision not to inform hotel guests about those renovation/contraction works.

The Novotel is a brand for families with children. I was in this hotel with my family and my one kid. I could not spend whole day outside hotel due to winter time so I have to be in the hotel during the day and my family and I have to listen to those loud noises. I could not sleep longer; my kid could not have afternoon nap. Simply my family was not able to rest as we have planned only due to the fact hotel management decided it can keep its guest in loud noises.

Due to those unexpected and highly annoying conditions occurred during my stay in Novotel Gdansk Marina I would like to get compensation in Le Club Accorhotels points so I could pay using those points for 3 nights in similar class hotel somewhere else.

Here’s the response from Accor:

I refer to the issue regarding your stay dates 29/12/2013 to 01/01/2014 in the Novotel Gdansk Marina.

I understand that you are disappointed with your stay in our hotel due to the renovation.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that has been caused which does not reflect the quality of service we wish to offer you.

I have forwarded your comments to Mrs. Loretta Neufeldt-Ziemba, General Hotel Manager of the Novotel Gdansk Marina.

She will review the concerns that you have shared with her teams to determine the appropriate actions.

I would like to thank you for your loyalty and I am pleased to offer you 3000 Le Club Accorhotels points. Your current Le Club Accorhotels account balance is now 3200 points.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotels.

The reader was not satisfied with this response and replied to back:

Thank you for posting 3000 points into my account, although I do not think that is a right compensation for totally spoiling my New Year’s holiday. I do believe the management of that Novotel hotel scheduled the construction/maintenance work without even considering what hotel guest may feel about that.

That is totally not acceptable for Novotel hotel – for the hotel which is designed for family stays. As I said this hotel had my phone number and they should have call me and they should let me decide if I want to spend my New Year holiday in noise or go somewhere else.

And here’s the reply from the Accor:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, following your stay at the Novotel Gdańsk Marina.

You have expressed your dissatisfaction regarding the first answer of our Customer Care service, and we deeply regret that the proposed gesture of goodwill, of 3000 courtesy points, didn’t entirely satisfy you.

I have discussed this matter with Krzysztof Arcyman, the General Manager of the hotel, who sincerely deplores the inconveniences that you have lived during your stay, because of the renovation works.

The hotel staff has been advised of your comments. They have been reminded that maintaining a high standard of hospitality and service is an essential part of their daily work.Your recent experience was certainly not a true reflection of the standards for which our hotels are known.

In order to demonstrate this, and to reward your loyalty, we are pleased to credit your Le Club Accorhotels card with 5 000 additional courtesy points, which, added to the 3 000 points already offered by our Customer Care, correspond to a total amount of 8 000 offered courtesy points.

Your feedback is all the more important to us as you are one of our loyal and privileged customers.

The satisfaction of our clients is of paramount importance and I hope that you will soon give us another opportunity to demonstrate our hospitality and thus regain your confidence.

The reader was satisfied with the outcome, as the points issued for the inconvenience covered the cost f the stay.

Conclusion

This is one of the hotel pet peeves of mine that I again encountered today.

How difficult is it for a hotel to have a red banner on their booking page to inform about any possible construction work that is going on at the hotel that may lead to noise or closed facilities?

I had a word with a management team member at the Pullman Jakarta Thamrin. There is no word on Accor’s website that the executive lounge would have been closed due to renovations that are going on over here, but apparently that is the case until the 3rd quarter. The hotel is selling executive club on its website, although my club access would have been based on the status.

Hotels should come clean about these issues so that guests would know what to expect during their stay. This would lower both the occupancy and the rates that the hotels could charge, so I am not keeping my hopes up.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleGHA Discovery Platinum Status For $46 (Business Traveller UK Subscription)
Next articleIHG Rewards Club Spring 2014 Promotion Guide

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE