InterContinental Royal Ambassador Qualification Criteria Now Officially Revealed


IHG Rewards Club has updated the terms and condition governing the program yesterday and has now, for the first time, revealed the Royal Ambassador qualification criteria.

IHG Rewards Club Royal Ambassador Status Requirements

Previously, IHG just stated that it was for the top 1 percent of the Ambassador members that everyone knew was not correct. I have written about the qualification criteria previously here, here, here and here that were quite right.

You can access the IHG Rewards Club Terms and Conditions here.

Here are the requirements:

IHG Rewards Club Royal Ambassador Status Requirements Text

Royal Ambassador Criteria: Royal Ambassador status is by invitation only. To qualify for invitation to Royal Ambassador status, an Ambassador member must: During their membership year, stay at least 60 qualifying nights in any IHG®  properties including InterContinental® Hotels & Resorts, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, HUALUXE™, EVEN™ Hotels, Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Staybridge Suites and Candlewood Suites. At least 20 of these qualifying nights must be at InterContinental® Hotels & Resorts properties. The member must also stay at 3 or more different InterContinental® Hotels & Resorts properties. SCH reserves the right to change these criteria at any time and without prior notification.

In a nutshell the requirements are:

– 60 qualifying nights (remember award nights are now qualifying as well)

– 20 nights at InterContinental hotels

– 3 different InterContinental hotels


It is good that IHG has now finally made the Royal Ambassador qualification requirements public, although it was know for several years that these really were the requirements. I really enjoy my Royal Ambassador status and happen to be typing this article from a suite at the InterContinental Medellin.