India e-Visa Now Available For Nationals Of 43 Countries


India has now enabled the e-Visa for nationals from 43 countries that can apply for a tourist visa online.

India Tourist Visa On Arrival

The e-Visa must be applied minimum of 4 days before your intended arrival date and maximum of monthly in advance.

You can access India’s e-Visa website here.

The e-Visa allows the person to stay in the country for 30 days from the arrival date and person can use this visa facility maximum twice in a calendar year. The fee for is $60 + some extra for paying using credit or debit card.

Note that the e-Visa is available if you arrive on any of the following airports:

Bengaluru (BLR), Chennai (MAA), Delhi (DEL), Goa (GOI), Hyderabad (HYD), Kochi (COK), Kolkata (CCU), Mumbai (BOM) or Thiruvananthapuram (TRV).

Here are the eligible countries:

Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Rep.), Lao People’s Dem. Rep., Luxembourg, Marshall Isl., Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia (Federated States), Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Russian Fed., Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Isl., Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, USA, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu and Viet Nam

India hopes that this new e-Visa would help to attract more tourist to the country that were put off traveling previously due to the visa requirement.


Just had a look at the Timatic and I am still eligible for Visa on Arrival (not just this e-Visa) that is available for limited number of countries.

I absolutely loathe the process of having to apply for visas to visit certain countries and it certainly, at least, limits the number of times I visit them (such as China). As a matter of fact, I need to deal with my China visa this week….

Having to apply for a visa certainly is an extra step that many are not willing to do and rather just visits countries that don’t have these requirements.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleOneworld Enhances Sapphire & Emerald Benefits
Next articleFree $25 Best Western Travel Card Today Only (Use By January 5, 2015)