Kimpton Karma Becomes IHG Rewards Club Early 2018

1 Comment

IHG acquired Kimpton back in 2014 (read more here) and there has been no loyalty integration between IHG Rewards Club & Kimpton Karma programs. No benefits or even earning points for IHG members for staying at Kimpton properties.

Kimpton Karma IHG

Now, IHG has finally announced that Kimpton’s Karma program will be folded to IHG Rewards Club in early 2018 and Inner Circle (highest Karma status) will become invitation only extension of Spire Elite status.

You can access Kimpton’s Karma integration to IHG info here.

READ MORE: IHG Rewards Club Rate & Bonus Points And Miles Promotions

Here are the changes:

Kimpton Karma IHG Changes

Here are the tier matches:

Seems that Spire Elite members won’t receive the Inner Circle benefits that are listed on the next exhibit.

Here are IHG status benefits at Kimpton hotels:

Kimpton Karma IHG Kimpton Benefits

Here they list the Inner Circle amenity that is excluded from the Spire Elite members.

Rewards conversion:

Kimpton Karma IHG Reward Conversion

IHG will convert any nights that you have in your Karma account to IHG Rewards Club points at the Tier 1 or Tier 2 – 4 level. If you have free nights, they will become IHG free nights that are then redeemable at any IHG hotel.


Inner Circle status has required 14 stays or 40 nights at the minimum. Spire Elite requires 75 nights or 75,000 base points ($7,500 spend at full service hotels). This is much higher. Not sure why they even keep the invitation only Inner Circle Spire Elite extension if there are no additional benefits beyond the welcome amenity?

The discontinuance of the Journey benefits do hit those that stay at many Kimpton hotels throughout the year and have racked up free nights in the process.

Considering that you have earned free night for every seven stays or 20 nights plus the Journey benefits, you probably need to stay a lot more to earn free nights under the IHG Rewards Club even when the bonus points and promotions are factored in. We also need to see the Kimpton award categories.