New Zealand NZeTA Now Available Online (Required For Visa Waiver Passengers Effective October 1, 2019)

1 Comment

New Zealand is following in the footsteps of Australia, Canada and United States by requiring passengers from Visa waiver countries to have a NZeTA (New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority) effective October 1, 2019.

Auckland New Zealand

The cost of the NZeTA that is valid for up to 2 years is NZ$9/NZ$12 depending whether you do it using an app or on their website. Most NZeTA eligible passengers are also required to pay IVL (International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy) of NZ$35.

You can access New Zealand Immigration’s page for NZeTA here.

Note that Australian citizens do not require NZeTA. It seems that, based on the website, that you do need to have NZeTA even if you plan only TRANSIT via New Zealand on your way to another country. This NZeTA requirement also applies for cruise passengers.

Visa Waiver Countries (require NZeTA effective October 1, 2019):

Auckland New Zealand Visa Waiver

Transit Visa Waiver Countries (require NZeTA effective October 1, 2019):

  • Bahamas
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Indonesia
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Marshall Islands
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela


I was just looking for this last week when I was in Australia and soon on my way to New Zealand. I believe that they enabled the applications for NZeTA earlier today.

You should get one closer to your departure date as it is only valid for two years at a time.

It is certain that this requirement will come as a surprise for many that are traveling to New Zealand later this year, as it has not been a requirement previously. Let’s hope that this NZeTA is as easy and fast to get/process as it is the Australian ETA (usually takes couple of seconds).