Schengen Member States To Restrict Non-Essential Travel To EU

Several European Union member states have closed their borders in the past week or announced that they soon would.

Now, the European Commission proposes that the non-essential travel to the union would be restricted for 30 days, which later could be extended. This doesn’t include citizens, residents, and their family members.


It is unclear when this ban of non-essential travel to EU Schengen states would begin. Considering that many of the countries have already instituted movement restrictions, it wouldn’t change the current state of affairs a lot. Who would like to travel to locked down Spain or France?