Hong Kong Bans Transit Passengers Effective March 25, 2020

Hong Kong is joining Singapore (read more here) and Taiwan (read more here) by banning transit passengers effective 00:00 HKT March 25, 2020.

Cathay Pacific already announced last week (read more here) that they would only operate 45 weekly rotations to 15 destinations (3 per week each). Not sure if this transit ban further reduces the number of Cathay flights.

Here’s my piece from a very quiet Hong Kong International airport two weeks ago:

Hong Kong Airport (HKG) Very Quiet Experience

And video of all planes parked at the airport:

Here are the updated Hong Kong entry requirements:

Entry restrictions – effective from 25 March 2020 (00:00 HKT)

Effective from 25 March 2020 (00:00 HKT), only Hong Kong residents with following documents will be permitted to enter Hong Kong:

  • Hong Kong Permanent Identity Card
  • Hong Kong SAR passport or British National (Overseas) passport (with right of abode in Hong Kong)
  • Hong Kong Identity Card (this needs to be accompanied with a valid work or study visa)
  • Work visa that is not yet activated (i.e. first time arriving in Hong Kong)

Non-Hong Kong residents will be denied entry into Hong Kong.

Entry restriction exemptions – effective from 25 March 2020 (00:00 HKT)

  • Passengers travelling from Mainland China, Taiwan or Macao SAR and have not been to other country/region in past 14 days
  • Passengers travelling on a diplomatic passports
  • The spouse and children of Hong Kong residents
  • Local government personnel performing official duties
  • Personnel approved by the Hong Kong SAR government to carry out anti-epidemic work

Passengers falling into this exemption category must still meet the minimum 14 days intended/permitted limit of stay in order to meet the 14 days of compulsory quarantine requirements, otherwise they will be refused entry.

Macao SAR residents can continue to enter Hong Kong with prior transport arrangements with Macao Tourism Board.

Transit restrictions – effective from 25 March 2020 (00:00 HKT)

For all passengers transiting through Hong Kong, their onward flight’s scheduled departure time must be before 23:59 on 24 March 2020. From 00:00 on 25 March, all transiting through Hong Kong International Airport will be suspended.

Additionally, all sea-to-air ferry services (Greater Bay Area to Hong Kong) will be suspended. Air-to-sea ferry services (Hong Kong to Greater Bay Area) have been suspended since 1 March 2020.

Additional entry requirements

A health declaration form must be completed and submitted to the Hong Kong Department of Health on arrival if:

  • Hong Kong is the final destination
  • The passenger started their journey in South Korea or Mainland China and is transiting through Hong Kong

These forms will be distributed onboard all flights to Hong Kong. Alternatively, passengers can submit their details by filling out the online form

Quarantine measures

Any person (including Hong Kong SAR residents) who have been to the following countries/regions in the past 14 days will be required to undergo 14 days of compulsory quarantine in a government-nominated quarantine facility:

  • China: Hubei province
  • Iran
  • Italy: Emilia-Romagna, Lombardy and Veneto regions
  • South Korea: Daegu and Gyeongsangbuk-do

All other passengers who are eligible to enter Hong Kong will be required to undergo 14 days of compulsory quarantine, either at home or a hotel.


There is not much air connectivity left after Singapore, Hong Kong, and Taipei are closed for transit passengers, and the United Arab Emirates has (Dubai and Abu Dhabi) suspended all flights (read more here) for two weeks.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleAmex To Hilton Honors 50% Conversion Bonus April 14, 2020
Next articleIHG Rewards Club Free Night Certificate Extensions (Request Only)