Wyndham Rewards Lowers Elite Qualifying Requirements For 2020

1 Comment

Wyndham Rewards today announced changes to the elite qualifying requirements for the 2020 membership year.

La Quinta Wyndham

The hotel company already announced back in April (read more here) that existing tiers earned based on 2019 activity would be extended by a year through December 2021 instead of 2020.

You can access Wyndham Rewards here.

READ MORE: Wyndham Rewards Rate & Bonus Points Offers

Note that this change only affects members who try to achieve higher elite status based on 2020 stays or nights.

Here’s the note from Wyndham:

Wyndham Rewards’ Member Levels are already among the most attainable in the industry and now, attaining new levels is even easier in 2020. Members will unlock Gold when they stay three qualifying nights, Platinum when they stay nine qualifying nights and Diamond when they stay 24 qualifying nights. Only stays in 2020 will count towards the new requirements, including those from earlier this year, which will be retroactively applied. Member Level benefits vary by level and range from perks like late check-out, preferred rooms and points accelerators to suite upgrades, welcome amenities and more.

Here is the standard elite qualifying requirement:

Lowered requirements and benefits:

Here’s the status extension policy:

Wyndham Rewards Elite Tiers Extended 12 Months + Points Expiry Until September 30, 2020


Most hotel companies are offering their loyalty program members easier paths to higher elite tiers in 2020 due to the pandemic. This is a good way to incentivize members to stay more.

Here are the frequently asked questions by Wyndham Rewards: