UK’s List Of “Safe” Countries That Don’t Require 14-Day Self-Quarantine Upon Returning Effective July 10, 2020


The United Kingdom began requiring all arriving passengers to self-quarantine for 14-days effective early June (read more here), and this rule was going to be revisited early July.

The UK government has now released a list of safe countries from which you can arrive without having to go through the quarantine as long as you have not been to any of the “naughty” ones such as the United States or Sweden in the preceding 14 days.

You can access the UK’s website for Covid-19 travel here.

Ireland is part of the common travel area with the UK and hence not included in his list. Also, travel to/from the Channel Islands, Isle of Man, and 14 British Overseas Territories are exempt from the quarantine.

Here are the countries:

Andorra Germany New Zealand
Antigua and Barbuda Greece Norway
Aruba Greenland Poland
Australia Grenada Réunion
Austria Guadeloupe San Marino
Bahamas Hong Kong Serbia
Barbados Hungary Seychelles
Belgium Iceland South Korea
Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Italy Spain
Croatia Jamaica St Barthélemy
Curaçao Japan St Kitts and Nevis
Cyprus Liechtenstein St Lucia
Czech Republic Lithuania St Pierre and Miquelon
Denmark Luxembourg Switzerland
Dominica Macau Taiwan
Faroe Islands Malta Trinidad and Tobago
Fiji Mauritius Turkey
Finland Monaco Vatican City
France Netherlands Vietnam
French Polynesia New Caledonia

And here’s EU’s/Schengen Countries:

European Union Confirms 15 Countries Whose Residents Welcomed To The Bloc From July 1, 2020


It seems that the UK has not taken the reciprocity into account when coming up with this list because Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand, Vietnam, and few others don’t allow their nationals to travel to the UK or require quarantine upon returning.

By releasing this, the UK government makes it easier for its citizens to travel because many, if not most, insurances are not valid if going to places that are on the Foreign Offices prohibited list.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleMarriott Bonvoy Hong Kong 50% Off Through August 30, 2020
Next articleIcelandair Saga Club Double Tier Credits September 1 – December 31, 2020