Ireland Releases Green List Countries From Where 14-Night Quarantine Not Required (UK Not Included)


The Irish Government has decided what countries are included on its Green List from which incoming passengers are not required to quarantine for 14-days upon arriving in the country.

Ireland is part of the European Union, unlike the United Kingdom, with which the country has a common travel area. It is not, however, part of Europe’s passport-free Schengen-area.

You can access the Tourism Ireland website here.

Here’s are Ireland’s green listed countries:

  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Italy
  • Hungary
  • Estonia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Slovakia
  • Greece
  • Gibraltar
  • Greenland
  • Monaco
  • San Marino

EDIT: Ireland is one of the few countries that basically let everybody in right now (no restrictions – same as with the UK ), but those NOT arriving from the 15 countries above need to self-quarantine for 14-nights.


It is quite telling that the UK is not included on this Green List, although there are no current barriers to entry to Ireland from Northern Ireland. Come January 1, 2021; there is an external EU border within the island (unclear how).

The Irish Government still suggests that the best course of action would be not to travel, but if some do, these are currently the safest destinations.