France Institutes Mandatory Covid-19 Testing For Arrivals From 16 Countries Including US


France on Friday announced that it would require incoming passengers from 16 countries to go through mandatory Covid-19 testing at the airport.

Air France A319

France does not allow non-EU/EEA citizen or permanent resident arrivals. This new testing requirement is in addition to fulfilling the current restrictions in place.

Here are the countries from which all passengers are tested for Covid-19:

  • Algeria
  • Bahrain
  • Brazil
  • India
  • Israel
  • Kuwait
  • Madagascar
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Serbia
  • South Africa
  • Turkey
  • Oman
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United States

Here’s an excerpt from the Local:

The extra checks will be focused on people entering from 16 countries designated as ‘red’ for Covid-19 circulation – all countries which are not on the EU’s safe travel list.

Testing is done in the airport and the results emailed out within 48 hours. Tests are free.

People are allowed to leave the airport after their test, but are advised to self isolate until they get the results. If the result is positive they must observe a 14-day quarantine.

Castex told reporters on Friday that arrivals from ‘red’ countries represent around 3,000 people a day. He said testing would begin immediately and the system would be totally operational by August 1st.


I already saw some confusion online where some thought that merely doing this Covid-19 test before the trip would allow them to the EU/Schengen area. That is not the case, however.

You need to fulfill the other requirements of entering Schengen that is mainly being either EU/EEA citizen/resident OR being a spouse/family member of one.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleHilton Exits Cape Town
Next articleBest Western Requires Face Mask In United States & Canada From July 28, 2020