Singapore Slightly Relaxes Border Control Effective September 1, 2020

1 Comment

Singapore is starting to allow passengers from Brunei and New Zealand to enter on September 8, 2020, without having to first quarantine for 7 or 14 days. They merely need to undergo a Covid-19 test upon arrival.

Passengers from Australia (excluding Victoria State), Macao, Mainland China, Taiwan, Vietnam, and Malaysia need to quarantine for 7 days (previously 14). They can do it at their place of residence (no longer at a designated hotel).

You can access Singapore’s website for Covid-19 travel updates here.

Here’s a video that the Singaporean government has released:

Main points:

With different countries at different stages in controlling the COVID-19 pandemic, the risk of importation of the virus varies. Singapore has been monitoring the situation, and adjusting our measures according to the risk of importation.

With several countries having the virus situation well under control and thus having a low risk of importation, the following updates to our border measures will take place with effect from 1 September 2020, 0000 hours:

For travellers from Brunei Darussalam and New Zealand

For travellers entering Singapore and who have remained in either Brunei Darussalam or New Zealand in the last consecutive 14 days prior to their entry:

  • Apply for an Air Travel Pass (ATP) between 7 and 30 days before their intended date of entry into Singapore
  • Are not required to serve a Stay-Home Notice (SHN)
  • Undergo a COVID-19 test upon arrival, and continue their activities in Singapore if the test is negative
  • Should they require medical treatment for COVID-19, they will be responsible for their medical bills

Returning Singapore Citizens, Permanent Residents and Long-Term Pass holders do not need to apply for an ATP.

For travellers from other low-risk countries

For travellers from other low-risk countries, such as Australia (excluding Victoria State), Macao, Mainland China, Taiwan, Vietnam, and Malaysia:

  • The SHN duration will be shortened from 14 days to 7 days.
  • Travellers will be allowed to serve their SHN at their place of residence, and undergo a COVID-19 test at the end of their SHN.

All other incoming travellers will continue to serve their 14-day SHN at dedicated SHN facilities, and undergo a COVID-19 test before the end of the SHN.

Travel advisory update

The following travel is now allowed:

  • General travel to Brunei Darussalam and New Zealand. Travellers are advised to check the entry requirements for the respective countries, and take the necessary precautionary measures.
  • Travel for studies for students pursuing academic qualification overseas, and where distance-learning is not offered as an option by the education institution

All travellers will be subject to the prevailing border measures upon entry, including payment for their stay at dedicated SHN facilities and tests, where applicable.


Even if Singapore soon allows its citizens to travel to New Zealand, it doesn’t mean that they can. There is no indication that New Zealand would open its border anytime soon for non-citizen/resident arrivals. Not sure what the situation with Brunei is.