EU Adds Japan To The Safe Countries List


European Union has tried to safely restart the tourism sector crucial to the Southern member states (Portugal, Spain, Italy & Greece). Some have already opened up for non-bloc arrivals.

In mid-May, the EU decided that the bloc would allow fully vaccinated visitors and those coming from low infection rate countries to enter sometime this summer. There was supposed to be a list of these released in late May, but it has now been delayed until mid-June.

You can access the EU’s website for travel to and within the bloc here.

The EU ambassadors decided on Wednesday to add Japan back to the shortlist of safe countries from which tourists can enter the bloc. There can still be testing and other country-specific rules in place.

The current safe list is:

  • Australia
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Thailand

EU/EEA plans to list travel restrictions from intra-bloc travel from July 1:

EU Proposes Lifting Quarantine & Testing Requirements From Fully Vaccinated On July 1, 2021

Vaccinated tourists and those coming from safe countries sometime this summer:

European Union To Allow Vaccinated Visitors And Those From Countries With Low Covid-19 Infection Rates


Japan was on this safe-countries list for a long time but was withdrawn and now added back in.

Not sure what Thailand does there as the country is going through its first true spike at the moment, and you cannot trust the infection numbers coming out due to minimal testing.

The more comprehensive safe-countries list is now coming out in about two weeks, but challenging to see if significantly jumpstarting the travel to the bloc as you need to come from a country deemed “safe” or be fully vaccinated. There could be and likely is country-specific travel restrictions and requirements.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleAccor ALL Rate Offers & Bonus Points Update June 2021
Next articleMarriott Bonvoy 25% Off Americas Escapes Through July 1, 2021