Qatar Airways Reinstates Expired Miles & Status From Members In UAE, Egypt & Saudi Arabia

Qatar and its Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) had a spat that started in 2017 and lasted until early 2021.

Qatar Airways was banned from flying to Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Egypt and even using the airspace of these countries. Qatar Airways had a loyal following in these countries that were not able to use the airline.

You can access this offer on Qatar Airways website here.

Qatar Airways has decided to reinstate the tiers of Privilege Club members in these countries until December 31, 2021, and reinstate miles expired after June 1, 2017.

This policy applies to members whose Privilege Club address as of June 1, 2017, was in the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and Egypt.


It appears that Qatar’s (the state’s) spat with Bahrain continues, although Qatar Airways can now use Bahrain’s airspace that is hugely important to the airline. There are no direct flights with these neighbors.

Good that Privilege Club members in these three countries have their tier and miles reinstated.

Here are the terms and conditions of this offer:

*Tier levels are reinstated until 31 December 2021.

*Qmiles that expired after 1 June 2017.

*Applicable to members based in following countries as of 1 June 2017: United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia and Egypt.