Netherlands Opens For Visitors From US, Albania, Lebanon, North Macedonia, Serbia & Taiwan On June 24, 2021


The Netherlands has had one of the strictest restrictions in place for travel to the country and its citizens and residents; what can be done once inside. The country, however, is rapidly reopening for travel.

The country will open for travelers from the US, Albania, Lebanon, North Macedonia, Serbia & Taiwan on June 24, 2021. No vaccination or PCR-RT, or other tests required.

You can access the Netherlands list for allowed countries here.

Here’s the current list:

Safe countries with a low COVID-19 risk

A safe country is a country where the risk of contracting COVID-19 is low. If you live in a safe country, you may travel to the Netherlands. The EU travel ban does not apply to you. It does not matter what your nationality or the purpose of your trip is. Countries that are not on the list of safe countries are considered high-risk areas.

No negative test result or self-quarantine required

If you are coming from a country where the risk of contracting COVID-19 is low (a safe country) you do not need to show a negative test result when you travel to the Netherlands. You are also not required to self-quarantine when you arrive in the Netherlands.

Safe countries with a low COVID-19 risk

Safe countries outside the EU/Schengen area

  • Albania (from 24 June onwards)
  • Australia
  • China (mainland China, Hong Kong, Macau). Only if China lifts entry restrictions on European travellers.
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Lebanon (from 24 June onwards)
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia (from 24 June onwards)
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • Serbia (from 24 June onwards)
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan (from 24 June onwards)
  • Thailand
  • United States (from 24 June onwards)
  • Vatican City

Safe countries/regions within the EU/Schengen area

  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia, apart from the Sjeverna Hrvatska region including Zagreb
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Finland
  • France: the island Corsica only
  • Germany
  • Greece: the South Aegean Region
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy, including Sicily
  • Greece: the North Aegean Region and the Ionian Islands Region only
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Portugal (including the Azores and Madeira)
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Spain: the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands only
  • Switzerland

Safe countries within the Kingdom of the Netherlands

  • Aruba

  • Bonaire

  • Curaçao

  • Saba

  • St Eustatius

  • St Maarten

The situation in the Netherlands is still challenging:

Netherlands reopening plan:

Steps of the reopening plan

The government intends to open up society over a period of 3 months. So that nearly everything will be allowed again in the summer, although sometimes subject to certain conditions. As a precautionary measure, everyone should keep following the basic rules in order to prevent the virus from spreading. There are 5 steps.

Step 1

The first step was taken on 28 April 2021. On that date, shops and outdoor seating areas at restaurants and cafés were allowed to reopen. And the curfew was lifted.

Step 2

The second step was taken on 19 May. On that date, gyms and music schools were allowed to reopen. And visits to amusement parks, open air museums and open air theatres were permitted once more.

Step 3

The third step was taken on 5 June. From that date, restaurants, cafés and cultural institutions were allowed to reopen, the maximum number of visitors at home was raised from 2 to 4, and groups as large as 4 people were allowed.

Step 4

The fourth step of the reopening plan will include raising the maximum number of visitors at home from 4 to 8 and allowing groups as large as 8 people. The conditions for allowing restaurants and cafés to open will be relaxed further. Events will once more be permitted, subject to certain conditions. Opportunities to take part in sport will be expanded further. And restrictions on cultural institutions will be further relaxed. This step will be taken no earlier than 30 June. The government will decide on 22 June whether step 4 can be taken.

Step 5

The lifting of measures such as the advice to work from home, the maximum size for groups, the requirement to wear a face mask in certain locations, pre-admission testing and the other basic rules has been established as step 5. As yet, no date has been determined for this step.


Suppose you first spend some time in the Netherlands and plan to visit other countries within Schengen/EU. In that case, there may be test or vaccination restrictions and internal border controls in place because the country’s Covid-19 infection rates are high.

It is good nevertheless to see countries opening up for incoming foreign travel without any requirements.