Germany Lifts Travel Ban From India, Nepal, Russia, Portugal & UK Effective July 7, 2021


Germany has decided to move five countries of India, Nepal, Russia, Portugal & UK from the virus variant list (no non-resident/national arrivals allowed) to the high incidence one on July 7, 2021.

Visitors who are fully vaccinated or have recovered can enter Germany from these countries without a mandatory quarantine or a negative Covid-19 test. However, non-vaccinated visitors or those with no previous infection with Covid-19 must provide a negative Covid-19 test and quarantine for 10 days with an optional test-to-release on day five.

You can access Germany Tourism Board’s website here.

Here’s the update:

Download (PDF, 314KB)


Germany has had quite sound policy when it comes to Covid-19 and travel restrictions.

The reason for removing these five countries from the virus variant list is that the Delta is already, at this point, so widespread in Germany that it doesn’t make a difference if visitors from these five countries are allowed in or not.

If you enjoyed this article, get our blog updates for free!

Previous articleIHG Hotels British Airways 1,000 Bonus Avios Two Night Stay Through September 30, 2021
Next articleRapid Antigen Test In Mexico City